Delete Multiple User Profiles From Windows 7

Posted By admin On 12/01/22

Occasionally you might login to a different computer with a domain account. Depending on your Active Directory configuration, your profile may be downloaded and stored on that computer, including documents, settings, and other configuration data. That can add up to a lot of wasted storage, not to mention the potential for an unauthorized person to discover your data.

  1. Search User Profiles On Yahoo
  2. User Profiles On Yahoo
  3. Delete Multiple User Profiles From Windows 7

Delete user profile from command line Windows 7. Ask Question. Up vote 2 down vote favorite. Frequently I need to delete all of the user profiles on a computer except for two accounts. I would like to have a script that can perform this for me. The script must work for Windows 7. To Disable User Profiles. Restart the computer. At the Windows logon screen, click Cancel. Click Start, point to Settings, click. Control Panel, and then double-click Passwords. On the User Profiles tab, click All users of this PC use the same preferences and desktop, and then click OK. When you are prompted to restart the computer, do so.

For instructor-led Windows 7 training, see our complete course schedule.

The easiest way to deal with this is simply to delete the profiles when you’re finished. Here’s how to do it in Windows 7.

  1. Open Control Panel.
  2. Click the System icon.
  3. On the left side, click Advanced system settings as shown in Figure 1.
  1. In the Advanced tab, in the User Profiles section click Settings. This will display the User Profiles dialog as shown in Figure 2.
  1. Select your user profile and click Delete. If prompted, click Yes to confirm.

That’s it! The profile is gone.

Enjoy!

Mike Danseglio – CISSP, MCSE, and CEH

Mike Danseglio teaches IT Security Training, Windows, System Center and Windows Server 2012 classes at Interface Technical Training. His classes are available in Phoenix, AZ and online with RemoteLive™.

You May Also Like

CategoryWindows 7Tags

Search User Profiles On Yahoo

Profiles

Active Directory, Delete a Profile in Windows, Delete a User Profile, User Profiles

User Profiles On Yahoo

If you have a bunch of user accounts on your Windows PC that you don’t need anymore, it may be time to clean them out. Today we’ll take a look at how to delete a user account in Windows.

RELATED:How to Delete a User Account in Windows 7, 8, or 10

NOTE: If you’ve hidden the user account you want to delete, you will not be able to delete it because it’s completely hidden from everywhere. You must show the account again before deleting it. Also, you will need to log into an account that has administrative privileges to delete user accounts. You cannot delete accounts from within a standard user account.

First: Back Up the User’s Data, If You Need It

The process of deleting an account is relatively easy, but you might want to back up their files and settings in case you need them again. Each user’s account settings and data are in the C:Users folder under their user name. Back up the user’s folder to another location or an external drive before deleting the account. This is important especially for Windows 8 and 10, because you are not provided a way to do this when deleting the account.

In Windows 7, you are provided with an option to keep some (not all) of the files before deleting the account, as we’ll discuss later in this article. Note that not all folders from the user’s folder are copied to the folder on the desktop, so you may want to manually back up the user’s folder as well as any other settings or files located outside of the user’s folder to make sure you have everything you need.

Delete a User Account in Windows 8 or 10

To delete a user account in Windows 10, click “Settings” on the Start menu.

NOTE: This process is similar in 8. However, to access the list of users you can manage or delete, search for “user accounts” on the Start screen and click on “Add, delete, and manage other user accounts” in the results. Then, follow the instructions starting with the Family & other users screen below.

On the Settings window, click “Accounts”.

Click “Family & other users” in the left pane on the Accounts screen.

In the right pane on the Accounts screen, scroll down to the Other users section where other user accounts are listed. Click on the account you want to delete.

Notice that local accounts are labeled as such. Microsoft accounts will list the account name with the email address below it.

Click “Remove”.

You’ll be asked if you want to keep the files from that user. As we mentioned earlier, you should make sure to have a backup in case you need the files. If you are sure, then click “Delete account and data” to remove the user and delete the data.

Once you’re finished, those accounts will no longer appear on the login screen.

Delete user profiles windows 8

Delete a User Account in Windows 7

If you’re running Windows 7, make sure you are logged into an account with administrative privileges.

To delete a user, type user accounts in the search bar on the Start menu and click on “User Accounts” listed at the beginning of the list of results.

Then, click the “Manage another account” link on the Make changes to your user account screen.

On the “Choose the account you would like to change” screen, click the user account you want to get rid of.

Next, click the “Delete the account” link.

You are then given the option to either delete the user’s files or keep them. You may want to do this if they need them for another machine or you want to store them in case they’re needed later.

Delete Multiple User Profiles From Windows 7

NOTE: We recommend that you back up files from the user’s account manually, because this method does not back up everything.

Click “Delete Account” on the Confirm Deletion screen to delete the account.

If you selected to keep the files, they are moved out of the account before the account is deleted.

You are returned to the Choose the account you would like to change screen and the account you deleted is gone. Click the “X” button in the upper-right corner of the window to close it.

If you chose to keep the files, they are saved in a folder on the desktop.

As we mentioned earlier, not all the folders from the user’s folder are backed up using this method, only what’s listed in the image below.

When you’re done, those users will disappear from the login screen.

READ NEXT
  • › How to Disable the Apple Watch’s Always-On Display
  • › How to Back Up Your Stuff and Switch to a New Mac
  • › Is the Mac Pro Overpriced Compared to a PC?
  • › Just Bought a Mac? 14 Essential Apps You Should Install
  • › Why You Should Sign In With Google, Facebook, or Apple